RSS Feed

No One Really Knows What I’m Talkin’ About, Yeah That’s Right My Name’s Yauch.

Posted on

So… unreasonably sad about the passing of Adam Yauch this weekend. Not much to say beyond what everyone else has said in various posts, tweets, rememberances and retrospectives, so I thought I’d pass along some of my favorite MCA rhymes.  A lot to this guy, obviously, but these are the ones that made, and continue to make me smile.

Image

“People How You Doing There’s A New Day Dawning
For The Earth Mother It’s A Brand New Morning”

Jimmy James (Check Your Head)

“Strictly Hand Held Is The Style I Go
Never Rock The Mic With The Panty Hose”

Sure Shot (Ill Communication)

“Jump out the window onto a parade balloon
My style is iller than the goblins in Troll 2

Long Burn the Fire (Hot Sauce Committee Part 2)

“Like Ernest Shackleton said to Ord Lees
I’ll have dog pemmican with my tea”

Oh Word? (To the Five Boroughs)

“I’ve got billions and billions of rhymes to flex
‘Cause I’ve got more rhymes than Carl Sagan’s got turtlenecks”

Hey Fuck You (To the Five Boroughs)

“I’ve got depth of perception in my text y’all
I get props at my mention ’cause I vex y’all”

So What’cha Want (Check Your Head)

“I got books with hooks and it looks like rain
Would someone on the Knicks please drive the lane”

Unite (Hello Nasty)

“I’m fishing with my boat and I’m fishing for trout
Mix the Bass Ale with the Guiness Stout”

A Year and a Day (Paul’s Boutique)

“I’m bad ass, Move your fat ass ‘Cause you’re wack, son
Dancin’ around like you think you’re Janet Jackson”

Professor Booty (Check Your Head)

“Now my name is M.C.A. I’ve got a license to kill
I think you know what time it is it’s time to get ill
Now what do we have here an outlaw and his beer
I run this land, you understand I make myself clear.”

Paul Revere (License to Ill)

And finally…

“A cold chill of fear cut through me
I felt my heart contract
To my mind I brought the image of light
And I expanded out of it
My fear was just a shadow
And then a voice spoke in my head
And she said dark is not the opposite of light
It’s the absence of light
And I thought to myself
She knows what she’s talking about
And for a moment I know
What it was all about.”

Namaste (Check Your Head)

One response »

  1. Craig Goesel

    I offer two:

    “I’ve got more rhymes than I got gray hairs, and that’s a lot because I got my share.”
    (oh so true, and always struck home with me)

    “Well I’m as cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce. You’ve got the rhyme and reason but no cause. Well if you’re hot to trot, you think you’re slicker than grease, I’ve got news for you crews you’ll be sucking like a leech… YEAH!!!”
    (real nice way to stick it in the face of your competition)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

